News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay  » News » The 32 MPs who disrupted Parliament

The 32 MPs who disrupted Parliament

By Onkar Singh in New Delhi
Last updated on: May 02, 2008 21:09 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Members of Parliament belonging to the Bharatiya Janata Party lead the list of 32 lawmakers, who received privilege notices from the Lok Sabha Speaker's office for their disorderly conduct in the House.

What Parliament panel plans to do with unruly MPs

Opposition National Democratic Alliance members had stormed to the well of the House on the price rise issue on April 24 without paying heed to the Chair. Cracking the whip on as many as 32 lawmakers, Speaker Somnath Chatterjee had referred the case to the Privileges Committee.

Besides the BJP, the list also has names of lawmakers from the Biju Janata Dal, Shiromani Akali Dal and Janata Dal-United.

A bulletin, issued by Lok Sabha secretary general P B T Achary, said: "The Speaker, Lok Sabha, in exercise of his powers under rule 227 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in Lok Sabha on 28 April, 2008, has referred the matter relating to disorderly conduct in the House by the following members on April 24, 2008, to the Committee of Privileges for examination, investigation and report:

  • Kishan Singh Sangwan (BJP)
  • Mahavir Bhagora (BJP)
  • Kiran Maheshwari (BJP)
  • Ashok Pradhan (BJP)
  • Nand Kumar Sai (BJP)
  • Shrichand Kriplani (BJP)
  • Shahnawaz Hussain (BJP)
  • Vijayendra Pal Singh (BJP)
  • Ganesh Singh (BJP)
  • Faggan Singh Kulaste (BJP)
  • Bhanwar Singh Dangawas (BJP)
  • Kalpana Ramesh Narhire (Shiv Sena)
  • Virendra Kumar (BJP)
  • Chandrakant Khaire (Shiv Sena)
  • Sukhdeo Singh Libra (Akali Dal)
  • Kharabela Swain (BJP)
  • Tathagatha Satpathy (Biju Janata Dal)
  • Ram Singh Kaswan (BJP)
  • Subhash Maharia (BJP)
  • Sushila Laxman Bangaru (BJP)
  • Dr PP Koya (Janata Dal-United)
  • Dharmendra Pradhan (BJP)
  • PS Gadhavi (BJP)
  • Dr Rattan Singh Ajnala (Akali Dal)
  • Paramjit Kaur Gulshan (Akali Dal)
  • Ramswaroop Koli (BJP)
  • Sukdeo Paswan (BJP)
  • Dr Ramkrishna Kusmaria (BJP)
  • Karuna Shukla (BJP)
  • Sharanjit Singh Dhillon (Akali Dal)
  • Nandkumar Singh Chauhan (BJP)
  • Brajesh Pathak (BSP)
  • The NDA will meet on May 5 to decide on the issue, BJP spokesman Prakash Javadekar said on Friday.

    Congress spokesperson Abhishek Singvi, responding on the issue, said: "The Speaker has not made any judgment. It has been sent to the privileges committee to find out if any prima facie case is made out against the concerned MPs. The privileges committee would hold meetings, gather evidence and submit the report to the Speaker, who may or may not accept it in full or in part," Congress spokesperson Abhishek Singvi told media persons.

    "It is a big surprise as I am a disciplined parliamentarian. I've seen people punching each other in Parliament. I believe in democracy and I was raising the people's concern over rising prices. I have not yet got a letter from the Speaker's office but I've seen media reports that my name is in the list," BJP leader Shahnawaz Hussain told

    Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
    Onkar Singh in New Delhi