News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay  » News » Seven members take oath in Lok Sabha

Seven members take oath in Lok Sabha

Source: PTI
July 21, 2008 13:53 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Nationalist Congress Party's Agatha K Sangma on Monday took oath as a member of the 14th Lok Sabha, becoming the youngest Member of Parliament of the current House.

Sangma, 27, who is the daughter of former Lok Sabha Speaker P A Sangma, and six other newly elected members, took oath on the first day of the two-day special session convened for the trust vote being sought by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh.

After the members took oath, Speaker Somnath Chatterjee said he was very happy to welcome three young members.

The other two are Anurag Singh Thakur of Bharatiya Janata Party and Anand Paranjpe of Shiv Sena.

"Now the House has 38 young members who are below 35 years of age," Chatterjee said.

Sangma was elected from Tura constituecy in Meghalaya after her father P A Sangma resigned following his election to the state assembly.

Thakur was elected from Hamirpur in Himachal Pradesh after sitting member Prem Kumar Dhumal resigned from the House on becoming Chief Minister.

Paranjpe won from Thane in Maharashtra, while Telangana Rashtra Samiti chief K Chandra Sekhar Rao was re-elected from Karimnagar in Andhra Pradesh.

Rao had resigned over the Telangana statehood issue.

The three other new members who took oath are A Indrakaran Reddy (Congress) of Adilabad, B Vinod Kumar (TRS) of Hanamkonda and Errabelli Dayakar Rao (Telugu Desam Party) of Warangal -- all from Andhra Pradesh.

While Sangma and Thakur took oath in Hindi, Chandra Shekhar Rao and Kumar preferred English. Reddy and Dayakar Rao chose Telugu and Paranjpe took oath in Marathi.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2024 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

More like this