News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay  » News » 35 political parties failed to win a seat in J&K polls

35 political parties failed to win a seat in J&K polls

Source: PTI
December 29, 2008 18:12 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

As the 11th Jammu and Kashmir Assembly elections returned a fractured verdict, 35 out of the 43 political parties that were in fray failed to win a single seat.

"Out of 43 political parties in fray, only eight have won
different number of seats in the elections and 35 parties got a big zero," Election Department officials told PTI.

 A record number of 1354 candidates, including 517
independents, contested the seven-phased assembly elections in the state, having an 87-member assembly.


While three national parties - Bharatiya Janata Party, Congress and Communist Party of India-Marxist and five regional parties--National Conference, Peoples Democratic Party, Jammu and Kashmir National Panthers Party, People Democratic Front and J&K Democratic Party National- won 87 seats together, 750 candidates fielded by 35 outfits lost the hustings, the officials said.

The National Conference headed by Omar Abdullah topped
the list with 28 seats, followed by Mufti Mohammed Sayeed's PDP with 21, Congress  with 17 and BJP with 11. The CPI-M, PDF and JKDPN have all won one seat each.

The Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party, had fielded
the second highest number of 83 candidates, but failed to bag a single seat.
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2024 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.