News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay  » News » Farooq Abdullah to contest in two constituencies

Farooq Abdullah to contest in two constituencies

By Mukhtar Ahmad In Srinagar
Last updated on: December 05, 2008 12:14 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

National Conference (NC) patron and former Jammu and Kashmir chief minister Dr Farooq Abdullah has decided to contest the state assembly polls from two constituencies in summer capital Srinagar.

Farooq announced the decision to contest from both Hazratbal and Sonawar constituencies here after consulting top party leaders.

He has already filed his nomination papers for Sonawar constituency.

Both the seats were won by the NC candidates, with Mohammad Yasin Shah winning the Sonawar seat and Mohammad Syed Akhoon winning the Hazratbal seat in 2002 assembly elections.

Sonawar is also the voting constituency of Farooq Abdullah while Hazratbal has been a traditional strong hold of the party.

The decision by the former chief minister to contest from the two constituencies is being projected by the National Conference as a show of strength in summer capital Srinagar.

At both the places Farooq Abdullah is challenged by the rival People's Democratic Party (PDP) candidates, but his victory from both the constituencies is believed to be certain by NC.

Dr. Abdullah didn't contest the 2002 assembly polls which the NC lost even though it still remained the single largest party.

Srinagar is seeing a highly subdued poll campaign in the wake of months of protests and violence against the allotment of land to the Shri Amarnath Shrine Board (SASB).

The eight assembly constituencies of Srinagar vote on December 24 in the last phase of the staggered seven phased assembly elections. 

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Mukhtar Ahmad In Srinagar