» News » Bihar: Re-polling begins in 7 constituencies

Bihar: Re-polling begins in 7 constituencies

Source: PTI
October 29, 2005 15:45 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Polling began this morning amidst heavy security in seven 'super sensitive' constituencies in Bihar where polls were deferred due to security reasons on October 26.

Simultaneous re-polling is also being held at 114 booths in Jamui, eight in Pirpainti, 13 in Kehalgaon and one in Sultan Gunj constituency, Chief Electoral Officer N K Sinha said.

Jamui has been in the news in the recent days over the arrest and subsequent "illegal" release of Vijay Prakash, Rashtriya Janata Dal nominee and brother of Union Minister Jai Prakash Narayan Yadav from police custody on October 18, when the first phase of the four-phased assembly election was held.

Sinha said 15,721,83 voters are eligible to exercise their franchise to decide the fate of 62 candidates in seven constituencies.

Prominent among them are former state ministers Ram Nath Thakur (Janata Dal-United), Ashok Singh (Lok Janshakti Party) from Samastipur, former leader of the state assembly Upendra Prasad Singh (Dalsinghsarai), State LJP Parliamentary Board Chairman Satish Kumar (Surajgarha) and RJD's Shanti Devi, mother of elusive Union minister Jaiprakash Narayan Yadav (Kharagpur).

State Home Secretary S C Sirohi said over 13,000 officers and jawans of central paramilitary forces were manning 1725 polling stations in Samastipur, Dalsinghsarai, Sarairanjan, Surajgarha, Kharagpur, Kadwa and Barsoi seats. Para-military personnel were also deployed at all booths where re-polling were on.

Two choppers of Indian Air Force are manintaining aerial survillance while security men in speedboats are patrolling the rivers. Police forces have also been deployed in riverine areas of the constituencies.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.