» News » High profile candidates bite dust in Bihar

High profile candidates bite dust in Bihar

By Anand Mohan Sahay in Patna
November 23, 2005 23:09 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Most of the high-profile sons and close relatives of state's powerful politicians tasted defeat, contrary to their expectation and much to their displeasure. Only few relatives emerged victorious. Reflecting a clear-cut mood for change, millions of people in Bihar have rejected them preferring lesser known names.

Not only were the sons and relatives of Rashtriya Janata Dal, which faced a virtual rout, that were defeated but sons and relatives of Janata Dal-United and Bharatiya Janata Party alliance too bit dust making way for ordinary faces from humble backgrounds.

Not only did the relatives of Rashtriya Janata Dal members, which faced a virtual rout, meet defeat but sons and relatives of Janata Dal-United and Bharatiya Janata Party alliance members too bit dust.

Railway Minister and Rashtriya Janata Dal chief Lalu Prasad's once powerful brother in law Subhas Yadav's wife Renu Devi, who contested as independent after Lalu denied her party ticket, was defeated in Mirganj constituency in Gopalganj, the home district of Lalu and his wife and former chief minister Rabri Devi.

The RJD senior leader and Central minister Mohammad Taslimuddin's son Sarfaraz Ahmad, a former minister was defeated in Jokihat seat, considered stronghold of Taslimuddin in Muslim dominated Araria district.

Former Central Minister and RJD member Jai Prakash Yadav's younger brother Vijay Prakash and mother Shanti Devi were defeated from Jamui and Haweli Kharagpur seat. The senior Congress leader Mahabir Choudhary, father of former Congress minister Ashok Choudhary was defeated in Barbigha seat. Mahabir Choudhary was made Congress candidate after Ashok's was made accused in the murder of a former Congress member Rajo Singh.

Another RJD member Siram Singh's son Rana Randhir was defeated in Madhuban seat. While a senior RJD leader and former minister Shakuni Choudhary himself won from Tarapur seat but his son Rajesh Choudhary was defeated in Parbatta seat.

The jailed RJD member Mohammad Shahabuddin's closed relative Ejajul Haque, former minister, was defeated in Jerradei seat.

Even the former central minister Jainarayan Nishad, who deserted BJP on the eve of polls and joined RJD after his son Ajay Nishad was denied ticket by BJP and made candidate by RJD but Ajay Nishad was defeated in Kurhani seat.

The BJP senior leader and former central minister C P Thakur's son Vivek Thakur was defeated in Barhampur seat and another BJP leader Munni Lal's son Sivesh Kumar was defeated in Sahar seat.

Amit Rana, son of the RJD leader R K Rana, one of the accused in multi million rupees fodder scam, was also defeated in Gopalpur seat.

Those few lucky ones who managed to win include the former Bihar chief minister and now JD(U) leader Jagannath Mishra's son Nitish Mishra from Jhanjharpur seat, RJD's member Raghunath Jha's son Ajay Jha from Shivhar seat, slain Congress leader Rajo Singh's daughter in law Sunila Devi won from Sheikhpura seat.

Lalu out, Nitish in

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Anand Mohan Sahay in Patna