» Election » Mizoram government sworn in

Mizoram government sworn in

Source: PTI
December 04, 2003 20:44 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

A 13-member two-tier Mizo National Front ministry, headed by Chief Minister Zoramthanga, was sworn in for a second consecutive term on Thursday evening.

Eight of the ministers were of Cabinet rank and, but for a new entrant, the others had been part of the earlier ministry.

The ceremony, scheduled for 1100 IST, was delayed by seven hours after the opposition, which called a dawn-to-dusk bandh to protest against the arrest of 20 people on Wednesday night, blockaded the streets demanding their release.

In fact, they even smashed the panes of Zoramthanga's car and blocked all roads leading to Raj Bhavan, where the ceremony was to have been held.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.