Rediff Logo
Channels:   Astrology | Contests | E-cards | Money | Movies | Romance | Search | Women
Partner Channels:    Auctions | Health | Home & Decor | IT Education | Jobs | Matrimonial
Home > Cricket > PTI > News
December 14, 2001

 -  News
 -  Diary
 -  Betting Scandal
 -  Schedule
 -  Interview
 -  Columns
 -  Gallery
 -  Statistics
 -  Earlier tours
 -  Specials
 -  Archives
 -  Search Rediff

  Call India
   Direct Service

  Save upto 60% over
    AT&T, MCI
  Rates 29.9/min
   Select Cities

   Prepaid Cards

  Mumbai 24/min
  Chennai 33/min
  Other Cities

 India Abroad
Weekly Newspaper

  In-depth news

  Community Focus

  16 Page Magazine
For 4 free issues
Click here!

 Search the Internet
 South Africa

E-Mail this report to a friend
Print this page Best Printed on  HP Laserjets

India retain team for
Bangalore Test

Deep Dasgupta survived a possible sack for poor wicket keeping on Friday as India named an unchanged 14-member squad for the third and final cricket Test against England, beginning in Bangalore on December 19.

The national selectors met in Ahmedabad on Friday under the chairmanship of Chandu Borde and decided against effecting any change in the team.

After the meeting, Borde told news persons that the selectors had discussed the names of alternative wicketkeepers but decided to stick to Dasgupta as there is just one match remaining in the series.

Dasgupta had a horrendous time behind the wickets in the ongoing second Test and missed several catches and even a stumping chance.

The team
Sourav Ganguly (captain), Shiv Sunder Das, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, V V S Laxman, Virender Sehwag, Deep Dasgupta, Connor Williams, Anil Kumble, Harbhajan Singh, Javagal Srinath, Tinu Yohannan, Iqbal Siddiqui and Sharandeep Singh.

Mail Cricket Editor

(c) Copyright 2000 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.